It sure has been a while since I last updated… Fun fact, I wrote this in January, but I cut my finger so I had to wait a while for it to heal.

Life’s been pretty busy, probably obvious by how I haven’t updated this site for almost a year? I’m not sure. I’m very timeblind. In the meantime I’ve been working on compiling links that I like for improving this site, changing my blog from Zonelets to Zoner is a big one! And doing a lot of work IRL, primarily related to my thesis and trying to find some…but that’s for another time.

My suicidality from last year was definitely one of the reasons why I hadn’t updated this site as often, even though it’s a pet project that I really wanted to keep adding onto… It was really hard for me, after moving back to my parents’ house, along with the stress of not being able to find a place to live for school. I don’t exactly want to get into the nitty gritty since really anyone can read this, but I guess that’s why I’m trying to be so optimistic about this year. After spending last year wishing I was dead, I want to permit myself to be just a little superstitious and to hope that the year of the water rabbit will be my year!

…Why the water rabbit? Well, I’m otherkin and I feel a really strong connection with the ocean… And all bodies of water, really. In a sense I see myself as an embodiment of a piece of the ocean, so I like to call myself an “envoy”. Also, I was born in the year of the rabbit. That’s probably giving too much information, but I want to hope some of that zodiac luck kicks in this year…

So far it’s been okay, thankfully I have an apartment, though I’m not entirely fond of my roommates. They’re good people, just like, not exactly what I had in mind when I thought about moving into an apartment. I’m very introverted and have very little social/emotional energy in general, which is probably obvious given that I’m writing all this out on a blog post for my website… But yeah, that’s why I’ve always had an easier time keeping up with Internet friends as opposed to IRL ones I guess. I have like, 3 good IRL friends. Imagine my shock when my roommates told me they were inviting close to 20 people for a Valentine’s party…

a cat drawn in mspaint crying. its tears are spilling onto the floor.

I really don’t know what to expect. Kind of scary to think about interacting with that many people when I’m already so overwhelmed…and my ability to recognize faces just goes down the drain the more people I talk to.

…On the upside, I’ve been having a lot of fun reading more books! I really recommend trying out storygraph if you want a somewhat social reading app and community but want to evade the all-seeing eyes and ever-looming of Amazon. I post really brief reviews on storygraph if you want to drop a follow, but I’d really like to put some book reviews up here so my presence isn’t too scattered about. My favorite read in January was definitely a toss-up between The True Deceiver by Tove Jansson and When Marnie Was There by Joan G. Robinson. I’ve also been reading through more mystery and detective fiction thanks to Umineko reigniting my interest in it and the fantastic podcast Shedunnit hosted by the lovely Caroline Crampton.

I’ve also just generally been broadening my horizons like getting into audio a bit more because of YouTuber DankPods and involving myself more in the fountain pen community on reddit…lots of things. Probably because I quit twitter? Ah, there’s an idea for an article, can you believe the things we’ve heard about the API restriction?

anyway, I’ll be updating the rest of the site a bit too with some fun links and stuff I’ve been up to! Along with unveiling a little project I’ve been wanting to do for a while. This is a short blog post, but I just wanted to ensure everyone that…I’m alive! This site isn’t dead. Haha.

Until next time~.

Widget is loading comments...